“My Experience with Ticketek”- A Conversation

Katherine Barrow
2 min readJun 2, 2017

--

Today, I visited Ticketek Australia’s site to book some tickets to “Disney’s Frozen on Ice” for some family members. The experience went a little like this:

Me: Hey I’d like to buy a ticket for Frozen on Ice please

Ticketek- Ok- here’s a page with some info about that- just select which show you want.

Me: K let’s try this one

Ticketek: Ok- how many adult and concession tickets?

Me: What’s a concession ticket?

Ticketek: Can’t tell you that- just decide if you want one

Me: No seriously

Ticketek: K just go back to that other page and search around a bit

Me: Ok got it, I’ll have 2 adult tickets and 1 concession

Ticketek: Ok- are you a robot?

Me: No

Ticketek: Lol prove it

Me: Ok fine I’ll pick all the pictures of pasta

Ticketek: Your pasta identifying skills are definitely human quality. What do you want to do next?

Me: I want to go to the next page

Ticketek: Lol

Me: Where’s the next button?

Ticketek: I hid it ROFL

Me: Wtf

Ticketek: Ha ha guess you’ll have to start this all again.

Me: Loses will to live, but does it all again anyway

Ticketek: I guess I’ll put a next button in there this time.

Me: Gee thanks

Ticketek: Tell me every detail about you including your pet’s middle name and the size of your left foot. Because it’s all totally relevant to your ticket purchase :D

Me: :|

Ticketek: Ok, everything’s looking good. The tickets you chose have an obstructed view though- that’s all good right?

Me: You have got to be kidding me.

Ticketek: Sucks to be you- guess you’ll have to start again.

Me: Seriously considers trading first born on the black market for tickets to this show as a less painful alternative to dealing with this goddam nightmare of a site, but does the whole process again

Ticketek: K I guess you’d like to pay now

Me: Yep

Ticketek: Hey remember how I made you do all the stuff like 3 times?

Me: Yes…

Ticketek: Well I added the tickets to your cart 3 times, so now you have 9 items in your cart and your total is $1million.

Me: JUST TAKE THE EXTRA ONES OUT OF MY GODDAM CART

Ticketek: I don’t really have a “cart” view, so….

Me: Throws laptop across the room

Also Me: Buys new laptop, clears cache, starts again, wonders what’s happened in the outside world since this all began…

Ticketek: How would you like me to send you your tickets?

Me: Just. Email. Me. The. Bloody. Tickets.

Ticketek: K. Could I get your physical address though?

Me: WTF for?

Ticketek: Just ’cause. Seriously though- give it to me.

Me: FINE

Ticketek: K I emailed you your tickets. Wanna keep in touch?

Me: Sets laptop on fire

--

--

Katherine Barrow

Helping digital product teams learn faster, make better decisions, and build products their customers love.